© Visit Éislek

Bunker Kaundorf

Where? L-9662 Kaundorf

This bunker from World War II, where deserted forced conscripts hid until liberation, can be reached via an approx. 1 km-long footpath. The walk is well worth it, as hikers near the bunker are rewarded by an impressive view over the Upper Sûre Lake.

In general, these bunkers were buried in young spruce forests and built from tree trunks. The tin roof was sealed with bituminous cardboard, before being covered with a layer of earth and dead leaves for perfect camouflage. The building materials had to be painstakingly transported at night in wheelbarrows and carts and deposited in secret locations. 

This bunker in Kaundorf was occupied by four resistance fighters at Whitsun 1944. Its existence remained a secret until the liberation.

It was restored in 1987 as a national monument and can only be reached on foot via a signposted hiking trail from the southern outskirts of the village.

In the immediate vicinity of the bunker, hikers can enjoy a magnificent view on the Upper Sûre Lake.

Opening hours

Contact

Address: Bunker Kaundorf
L-9662 Kaundorf
Show on map

More sites

© Visit Éislek
Memorial Site Schumann's Eck
At the strategic road junction "Schumannseck", the most murderous position war raged for weeks during the Battle of the Bulge. Today, the 1944-1945 Liberation Memorial stands here in the spirit of reconciliation and understanding between peoples as a memorial against war in the world.
Find out more
© Visit Luxembourg
Thematic paths
Bunker Circular Walk
Distance: 13,84 km
Duration: 4:30 h
Difficulty: difficult
Find out more
© Ville d'Ettelbruck
Patton Monument Ettelbruck
Discover the Patton Memorial in Ettelbruck, an important place of remembrance. This monument honours General George Patton Jr, whose 3rd US Army liberated Ettelbruck in December 1944, stopping the invasion of the Wehrmacht during the Battle of the Bulge.
Find out more
© Visit Éislek
St. Lawrence Church Diekirch
The Laurentius Church in Diekirch was planned by Pierre Biwer and completed in 1868. It was declared a national monument in 2017.
Find out more
© Jängel Klasen
Veiner Gare – Former Trainstation
Nestled along the River Our, the town of Vianden once boasted a unique railway connection – the "Benny Express." This narrow-gauge line operated from 1889 to 1948, linking Vianden with Diekirch's main railway, a vital step in making the town more accessible to tourists.
Find out more
Saint-Michel Chapel
The Saint-Michel Chapel towers high above Oberschlinder, surrounded by forest and accessible via hiking trails.
Find out more
© Visit Éislek
Centre Cinqfontaines
The small village of Cinqfontaines (Five Wells), not far from Troisvierges, is home to a former monastery built at the beginning of the 20th century. In 1941 it was confiscated by the Nazis who used it as a place of internment for Jews from Luxembourg.
Find out more
© Caroline Martin
Exhibition “Our Common Heritage”
An ambitious and unifying project, the exhibition “Our Common Heritage” in Boulaide takes an original and completely new approach to the history lived in the cross-border territories of the Greater Region, whose imprint still marks the current geopolitical context.
Find out more
© Visit Clervaux
free
with theLuxembourgPass
Museum Bataille et Châteaux - Battle of the Bulge and castle models
Treat yourself to a journey into the past and into other dimensions! This unique exhibition is suitable for young and old alike. Here you can discover history in a new way.
Find out more