©Paul Dostert

A stumbling sill in memory of the Jewish community

Where? Place de la Résistence, L-9023 Ettelbruck

Discover a poignant tribute to Ettelbruck's vibrant pre-war Jewish community, as you walk through the historic heart of the town and stumble upon the "Stumbling sill."

In 2013, students from the Catholic private school Ste-Anne took the initiative to install a "Stolperstein", a Stumbling sill on Place de la Résistance in Ettelbruck. This memorial marks the location where a vibrant Jewish community once thrived, with numerous shops, before World War II. The Stumbling sill, a creation by German artist Gunter Demnig, is part of his broader Stolpersteine project, which commemorates the victims of National Socialism.

The Stumbling sill is a thought-provoking reminder of the rich Jewish life that existed in Ettelbruck before the tragic events of the Shoah. Its purpose is to engage passers-by in reflecting on this history, encouraging them to remember the community that once flourished here.

Opening hours

Contact

Address: Stolperstein Ettelbruck
Place de la Résistence
L-9023 Ettelbruck
Show on map

More sites

Përmeshaff – Estate ruins
Përmeshaff, a historic site near Kaundorf, traces its roots to 1195. Over the centuries, it evolved into a religious centre, attracting pilgrims to its chapel and healing springs. Despite enduring a devastating fire in 1936, recent archaeological efforts have unveiled layers of its rich history, highlighting significance of Përmeshaff as a cultural landmark.
Find out more
Saint-Roch church Insenborn
Discover the neo-Gothic splendour of the Insenborn church, built according to plans by architect Biver in 1861.
Find out more
©Joachim Köhler
Notre-Dame de Lorette Chapel
A Gem of Clervaux's Spiritual Heritage
Find out more
©Visit Éislek
Bunker Kaundorf
This bunker from World War II, where deserted forced conscripts hid until liberation, can be reached via an approx. 1 km-long footpath. The walk is well worth it, as hikers near the bunker are rewarded by an impressive view over the Upper Sûre Lake.
Find out more
©Naturpark Oewersauer, Naturpark Oewersauer
Circular routes
Schumannseck 1944-1945 Memorial Path
Distance: 3,09 km
Duration: 0:50 h
Difficulty: easy
Find out more
©Industrie.lu
Antimonmine – Abandoned mine
Amidst the tranquil landscape, Goesdorf's geological tapestry reveals remnants of shafts and galleries, preserving the legacy of this "foundry village."
Find out more
©Commune de Troisvierges
Troisvierges Trainstation
Troisvierges Station's story mirrors a dynamic era in European history. From a modest border stop, it transformed into a vital transportation hub, only to witness the turmoil of war and the gradual shift toward quieter days.
Find out more
Fransiscan Church
The Franciscan church of Troisvierges is an impressive religious landmark in the heart of the town. With its imposing architecture and historic charm, the church is a place of peace and contemplation.
Find out more
©Visit Éislek
St. Cunegonde Chapel
The St. Cunegonde Chapel in Heiderscheidergrund, a noteworthy example of 19th-century ecclesiastical historicist architecture in Luxembourg, features a neo-Gothic design, late Gothic sculptures, 18th-century statues, and glass paintings, embodying the country's historical and national consciousness as the oldest Kunigundis shrine.
Find out more