Saint-Hubert Church

Where? 7, Frummeschgaass, L-9766 Munshausen

Discover the fascinating architecture of the church, built on the ruins of a pagan site!

The patron saint of the church of Munshausen is Saint Hubert, the important missionary of the Ardennes. The church was built on the remains of a pagan place of worship and is perched on a small hill when viewed from the east. A typical village church from the Éislek region, it is adapted to the harsh climate of the Ardennes. The low, squat nave, the high Gothic choir, the fortress-like yet slender tower, the crypt chapel of the Clervaux counts, the idiosyncratic vestibule and the sacristy together form an artfully structured composition that fascinates lovers of antiques and art.

Opening hours

Opening hours are subject to change. Please check them before your visit in order to be sure.
Saturday21.03.2026 : 10:00 - 18:00
Sunday22.03.2026 : 10:00 - 18:00
Monday23.03.2026 : 10:00 - 18:00
Tuesday24.03.2026 : 10:00 - 18:00
Wednesday25.03.2026 : 10:00 - 18:00
Thursday26.03.2026 : 10:00 - 18:00
Friday27.03.2026 : 10:00 - 18:00

Contact

Address: Saint-Hubert Church
7, Frummeschgaass
L-9766 Munshausen
Show on map

More sites

©© Giulio Groebert
Esch-sur-Sûre dam
The impressive dam in Esch-Sauer was built between 1955 and 1958 and blends harmoniously into nature. Its arched design makes it a popular photo spot for photographers and nature enthusiasts.
Find out more
Saint-Michel Chapel
The Saint-Michel Chapel towers high above Oberschlinder, surrounded by forest and accessible via hiking trails.
Find out more
©Jängel Klasen
Veiner Gare – Former Trainstation
Nestled along the River Our, the town of Vianden once boasted a unique railway connection – the "Benny Express." This narrow-gauge line operated from 1889 to 1948, linking Vianden with Diekirch's main railway, a vital step in making the town more accessible to tourists.
Find out more
©Visit Éislek
Church Saints-Côme-et-Damien
The parish church of Sts Côme et Damien in Clervaux, built in 1910/1911 in the Rhenish-Romanesque style, impresses with its striking dome above the altar and its majestic twin towers with melodic chimes.
Find out more
The Chapel of St Mark
St Mark's Chapel in Longsdorf attracts visitors as a popular place of pilgrimage, especially on 25 April, the feast day of the holy patron saint. The chapel with its two-nave design, geometric paintings and a baroque altar is certainly worth a visit.
Find out more
Përmeshaff – Estate ruins
Përmeshaff, a historic site near Kaundorf, traces its roots to 1195. Over the centuries, it evolved into a religious centre, attracting pilgrims to its chapel and healing springs. Despite enduring a devastating fire in 1936, recent archaeological efforts have unveiled layers of its rich history, highlighting significance of Përmeshaff as a cultural landmark.
Find out more
©Visit Éislek
St. Lawrence Church Diekirch
The Laurentius Church in Diekirch was planned by Pierre Biwer and completed in 1868. It was declared a national monument in 2017.
Find out more
©Visit Éislek
Kalborn Mill
The mill in Kalborn, which is over 200 years old, has developed into a nature conservation centre. Endangered river pearl and brook mussels are bred here. Information boards in front of the mill show how gardens can provide habitats for wildlife and insects.
Find out more
©Visit Éislek
St. Cunegonde Chapel
The St. Cunegonde Chapel in Heiderscheidergrund, a noteworthy example of 19th-century ecclesiastical historicist architecture in Luxembourg, features a neo-Gothic design, late Gothic sculptures, 18th-century statues, and glass paintings, embodying the country's historical and national consciousness as the oldest Kunigundis shrine.
Find out more