©Visit Éislek

Memorial Site Schumann's Eck

Where? Rue Grande-Duchesse Charlotte, L-9515 Wiltz

At the strategic road junction "Schumannseck", the most murderous position war raged for weeks during the Battle of the Bulge. Today, the 1944-1945 Liberation Memorial stands here in the spirit of reconciliation and understanding between peoples as a memorial against war in the world.

During the Battle of the Bulge, the "Schumann's Eck" was a strategically important road junction, which unfortunately became one of the cruellest battlefields in Luxembourg.

The "National Liberation Memorial" commemorates the thousands of soldiers that died in this battle. Another memorial called Massegraf (mass grave) is located on the spot where more than 160 German and some American soldiers were temporarily buried. 

A memorial trail of 3 kilometres leads through the forest past old, partly reconstructed trenches. Life-size historical photos of American and German soldiers as well as Luxembourg civilians at various stations illustrate the events of that time.


Practical information

  • Accessible to all

Culture info

  • Visit possible (& visit information)

Contact

Address: Syndicat d'Initiative et du Tourisme Wiltz
35, Rue du Château
L-9516 Wiltz
Show on map

More sites

©Visit Éislek
St. Lawrence Church Diekirch
The Laurentius Church in Diekirch was planned by Pierre Biwer and completed in 1868. It was declared a national monument in 2017.
Find out more
©Visit Éislek
Museum of the Battle of the Bulge Wiltz
Discover the moving history of the "martyr town" during the Battle of the Bulge in the interactive museum in Wiltz. Experience history up close in the beautiful Wiltz Castle.
Find out more
©Industrie.lu
Antimonmine – Abandoned mine
Amidst the tranquil landscape, Goesdorf's geological tapestry reveals remnants of shafts and galleries, preserving the legacy of this "foundry village."
Find out more
©Visit Luxembourg
Thematic paths
Bunker hiking route
Distance: 13,84 km
Duration: 4:30 h
Difficulty: difficult
Find out more
©Jängel Klasen
Veiner Gare – Former Trainstation
Nestled along the River Our, the town of Vianden once boasted a unique railway connection – the "Benny Express." This narrow-gauge line operated from 1889 to 1948, linking Vianden with Diekirch's main railway, a vital step in making the town more accessible to tourists.
Find out more
©Samfaitvoyager
Bavigne dam
The Bavigne dam, part of the Upper Sûre reservoir, was built in the 1950s, requiring the relocation of mills and farmsteads. Standing at 23 meters, it guards the lake's pristine water quality. Today, as a popular diving spot, it unveils submerged remnants like bridges and a mill, echoing a rich history amid the progress.
Find out more
©Visit Éislek
free
with theLuxembourgPass
Copper Mine Stolzembourg
Accompanied by a guide, discover the informative museum about the geology of the region, the history of the mine and the different mining periods. Follow the geological trail with 10 display panels and explore the deep underground galleries!
Find out more
Trinitarian church and cloister Vianden
Discover one of the most beautiful Gothic buildings in Luxembourg!
Find out more
©Visit Éislek
free
with theLuxembourgPass
General Patton Memorial Museum
The General Patton Memorial Museum in Ettelbruck commemorates the commander of the 3rd US Army whose troops liberated the town on 25 December 1944. The exhibition illustrates the most important events that occurred during the Second World War in Luxembourg.
Find out more