©Visit Éislek

St. Pierre Chapel

Where? L-9760 Lellingen

The chapel in Lellingen is an octagonal masterpiece that combines history and architecture in unique harmony.

The picturesque village of Lellingen, part of the municipality of Kiischpelt in the canton of Wiltz, was recognised as a model village by the Service des Sites et Monuments in 1984 and preserves its authentic atmosphere. The octagonal Saint-Pierre church sits enthroned in the middle of the village.

Lellingen, a charming village in the Oesling, located about 10 kilometres east of Wiltz, unites at the crossroads of three streams: Lellgerbaach, Pëntschbach and the largest, the Clerve, which surrounds the chapel. The original chapel, dedicated to Saint Peter, was probably built around 1750 and consisted of an oblong building with 4 small windows. In the 19th century, the chapel was extended and given its definitive shape. With its unique architecture, the chapel presents itself with a narrow, elongated choir and a higher, roof-shaped transept. In the middle of the transept rises a small tower with a single bell from 1840, dedicated to Saint John. The interior is characterised by statues and reliquaries reflecting the rural piety of the Baroque and the 19th century.

A special feature is the wooden altar retable, framed by doors that provide access to the small sacristy. The Regence-style décor with acanthus leaves and vines decorates the altar. The chapel blends seamlessly into the village and remains a lively place that regularly hosts exhibitions and attracts tourists, especially during the annual Open Air Konstfestival since 1991. The chapel is a significant work of art of historical, architectural and aesthetic value that complements the authentic atmosphere of the village.

Opening hours

Contact

Address: Kapelle St. Pierre
L-9760 Lellingen
Show on map

More sites

©Visit Éislek
Bunker Kaundorf
This bunker from World War II, where deserted forced conscripts hid until liberation, can be reached via an approx. 1 km-long footpath. The walk is well worth it, as hikers near the bunker are rewarded by an impressive view over the Upper Sûre Lake.
Find out more
©Visit Éislek
Vianden Dam
The Vianden Dam is currently being transformed into an oversized artwork.
Find out more
©Samfaitvoyager
Bavigne dam
The Bavigne dam, part of the Upper Sûre reservoir, was built in the 1950s, requiring the relocation of mills and farmsteads. Standing at 23 meters, it guards the lake's pristine water quality. Today, as a popular diving spot, it unveils submerged remnants like bridges and a mill, echoing a rich history amid the progress.
Find out more
©Industrie.lu
Antimonmine – Abandoned mine
Amidst the tranquil landscape, Goesdorf's geological tapestry reveals remnants of shafts and galleries, preserving the legacy of this "foundry village."
Find out more
©Musée de l'Ardoise
free
with theLuxembourgPass
Slate Museum - Musée de l'Ardoise
Discover the fascinating world underground at the Haut-Martelange Slate Museum! Experience the history and techniques of slate extraction and immerse yourself in the new, fascinating "Johanna" visitor gallery. Experience the everyday life of slate workers at first hand!
Find out more
©Visit Clervaux
free
with theLuxembourgPass
Museum Bataille et Châteaux - Battle of the Bulge and castle models
Treat yourself to a journey into the past and into other dimensions! This unique exhibition is suitable for young and old alike. Here you can discover history in a new way.
Find out more
©Pancake! Photographie
Tour suggestion
Victor Hugo Culture Tour
Duration: 1 day
With the LuxembourgPass. Did you know that the famous French author, poet and artist Victor Hugo had a soft spot for Luxembourg?
Find out more
©Naturpark Oewersauer, Naturpark Oewersauer
Circular routes
Schumannseck 1944-1945 Memorial Path
Distance: 3,09 km
Duration: 0:50 h
Difficulty: easy
Find out more
©Visit Éislek
St. Lawrence Church Diekirch
The Laurentius Church in Diekirch was planned by Pierre Biwer and completed in 1868. It was declared a national monument in 2017.
Find out more