©Gaul’s Legacy Tours

US Memorial Diekirch

Where? 25, Avenue de la Gare, L-9233 Diekirch

The US Memorial located in the municipal parc of Diekirch river remembers a number of US units that were present in and around the city, September 1944 – February 1945.

The US Memorial of Diekirch is located on the banks of the Sûre next to the pedestrian bridge that spans the river. Inaugurated in 1984 on the initiative of the Diekirch National Museum of Military History on the occasion of the 40th anniversary of the liberation of Luxembourg and the Battle of the Bulge, it pays tribute to all those US military units that were stationed, fought and transitted through Diekirch and surrounding areas from September 1944 to February 1945. 

A bronze plaque at the bottom of the pedestrial of the monument shows the former railroad bridge, replaced later by the present concrete foot bridge. 

Units of the 5th US Armored Division liberated the town for the first time via that railroad bridge. The same bridge was used during the night of December 19/20, 1944 by approximately 6.000 civilians to flee the town in great haste face to the approaching enemy. Finally, the partially destroyed bridge was used in 1945 by units of the 5th US Infantry Division during the “Sauer river” crossing operations. It was repaired to be re-used as again a railroad bridge until 1962.

Contact

Address: US Memorial Diekirch
25, Avenue de la Gare
L-9233 Diekirch
Show on map

More sites

Saint-Hubert Church
Discover the fascinating architecture of the church, built on the ruins of a pagan site!
Find out more
©Visit Éislek
Bunker Kaundorf
This bunker from World War II, where deserted forced conscripts hid until liberation, can be reached via an approx. 1 km-long footpath. The walk is well worth it, as hikers near the bunker are rewarded by an impressive view over the Upper Sûre Lake.
Find out more
©Visit Éislek
Museum of the Battle of the Bulge Wiltz
Discover the moving history of the "martyr town" during the Battle of the Bulge in the interactive museum in Wiltz. Experience history up close in the beautiful Wiltz Castle.
Find out more
©Musée de l'Ardoise
free
with theLuxembourgPass
Slate Museum - Musée de l'Ardoise
Discover the fascinating world underground at the Haut-Martelange Slate Museum! Experience the history and techniques of slate extraction and immerse yourself in the new, fascinating "Johanna" visitor gallery. Experience the everyday life of slate workers at first hand!
Find out more
©Visit Luxembourg
Thematic paths
Sculpture Trail Lultzhausen
Distance: 2,92 km
Duration: 0:50 h
Difficulty: easy
Find out more
©PNDO
Houffelter Kanal - Meuse-Moselle Canal
The Canal That Never Was: The Ambitious Plan to Link Belgium and Luxembourg
Find out more
Fransiscan Church
The Franciscan church of Troisvierges is an impressive religious landmark in the heart of the town. With its imposing architecture and historic charm, the church is a place of peace and contemplation.
Find out more
©Visit Éislek
Church Saints-Côme-et-Damien
The parish church of Sts Côme et Damien in Clervaux, built in 1910/1911 in the Rhenish-Romanesque style, impresses with its striking dome above the altar and its majestic twin towers with melodic chimes.
Find out more
©Industrie.lu
Antimonmine – Abandoned mine
Amidst the tranquil landscape, Goesdorf's geological tapestry reveals remnants of shafts and galleries, preserving the legacy of this "foundry village."
Find out more